Skip Nav

Welcome to the Norwalk Community School District where we are focused on our District’s Mission: Growing Learners and Leaders.  Our district is home to approximately 3,500 students and over 500 staff members. We are a Leader in Me school district working to develop our students’ full potential through our Portrait of a Learner.

NCSD claims many past award recipients including past Iowa Teachers of Year, two Principals of the Year, Technology Leaders of the Year, Central Office Administrator of the Year, School Nurse of the Year, National Milken Educators, among many others.  Four Iowa Hall of Fame coaches, one National Hall of Fame coach, and one Hall of Fame Activities Director are spent exemplary careers in the NCSD. Band and Chorus perennially win Division 1 ratings and lead an outstanding arts program. Alumni Brandon Routh (Superman), Jason Momoa (Aquaman/Game of Thrones), Joel Hanrahan (baseball All- Star) and thousands of other successful graduates make positive contributions to their community, state and nation.

The community supports bond issues and participates actively in planning. This cooperative spirit resulted in an international award for “Innovations in Sharing” between the Norwalk District and the city. Come to live and grow with Norwalk Schools! #BeAWarrior

Shawn Holloway
Superintendent of Norwalk Schools

District Highlights

  • Three Iowa Teachers of the Year
  • 1 to 1 Electronic Devices per student
  • 96.2% Graduation Rate
  • 22 Average Kindergarten-5th grade class size 

Click Here for School Building Information

Communities & Boundary Map

The Norwalk Community School District is located just south of Des Moines, Iowa’s capitol city in Warren County and includes the communities of Norwalk, Cumming, Spring Hill, portions of Des Moines, West Des Moines and rural Warren County.

Boundarymap 1